The Nobel Peace Prize is Split Between Women for 2011

(l to r) Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee And Tawakkul Karman all received the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize for their efforts in women's rights.

The Nobel Peace Prize is a coveted award that is normally awarded to one person for their efforts in securing the democracy and peace of the world.  Both Martin Luther King, Jr., and President Obama have received the award for their efforts to create peace  in society.  But this year, there was such overwhelming spirit for women’s rights throughout the world that the Norwegian committee that awards the prize had to split it three ways.

Three female superheroes that stand for the liberation, self-preservation, and fair treatment of women throughout the world were awarded the prize.  The recipients for this year’s award are as follows.  The statement is excerpted from the Nobel committee’s announcement: 

Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is Africa’s first democratically elected female president. Since her inauguration in 2006, she has contributed to securing peace in Liberia, to promoting economic and social development, and to strengthening the position of women. Leymah Gbowee mobilized and organized women across ethnic and religious dividing lines to bring an end to the long war in Liberia, and to ensure women’s participation in elections. She has since worked to enhance the influence of women in West Africa during and after war. In the most trying circumstances, both before and during the “Arab spring,” Tawakul Karman has played a leading part in the struggle for women’s rights and for democracy and peace in Yemen.”

These three women are truly phenomenal and it is wonderful to see them recognized with the world’s highest honor for their effort to make a difference.  Read more here.

One thought on “The Nobel Peace Prize is Split Between Women for 2011”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *