BMI’s 57TH Annual Pop Awards Photos

Leading music rights organization Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) held its 57th Annual Pop Awards Tuesday night, honoring Gamble & Huff as BMI Icons. Songwriter of the Year honors resulted in a record-setting eight-way tie this year, saluting …

Colbie Caillat, Polow Da Don, T-Pain, Alan Chang, Matchbox Twenty’s Paul Doucette and Brian Yale, Chris Brown, and Maroon 5’s Adam Levine. Caillat also garnered Song of the Year honors for international hit “Bubbly,” which she co-wrote and recorded. Universal Music Publishing Group enjoyed a big night as well, winning the Publisher of the Year crown. Held at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Los Angeles, the invitation-only ceremony was hosted by BMI President & CEO Del Bryant and BMI Vice President/General Manager, Los Angeles, Barbara Cane and also recognized the writers and publishers of the past year’s 50 most-performed pop songs.

The evening’s capstone was a musical tribute to Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff. Gavin DeGraw sang “If You Don’t Know Me By Now,” Estelle performed “Don’t Leave Me This Way,” and Michael Bublé delivered his rendition of “Me and Mrs. Jones.” Named BMI Icons in recognition of their “unique and indelible influence on generations of music makers,” Gamble & Huff join an elite list of previous BMI Icons that includes the Jacksons, Bee Gees, Crosby, Stills & Nash, Paul Simon, Merle Haggard, Brian Wilson, Willie Nelson, James Brown, Ray Davies, Carlos Santana, Dolly Parton, and Hall & Oates.

Colbie Caillat also delighted the audience with a charming performance of “Bubbly,” which garnered Song of the Year honors for its creative hive. Co-written by Caillat and singer/songwriter Jason Reeves and published by Cocomarie Music, “Bubbly” spent fourteen weeks atop Billboard’s Adult Top 40 chart.

Eight songwriters lay claim to the Songwriter of the Year crown. Colbie Caillat’s “Bubbly” and “Realize”; Polow Da Don’s “Forever,” co-written and recorded by Chris Brown, and “Love in This Club,” recorded by Usher and featuring Young Jeezy; T-Pain’s “Kiss Kiss,” also recorded and co-written by Chris Brown, and “Low,” recorded by Flo Rida; Alan Chang’s “Everything” and “Lost,” recorded by Michael Bublé; Matchbox Twenty’s Brian Yale and Paul Doucette’s co-compositions “How Far We’ve Come” and “These Hard Times” from the band’s Exile on Mainstream album; and Maroon 5’s Adam Levine’s “Wake Up Call” and “Won’t Go Home Without You” all ranked amongst the year’s top 50 most-performed songs as well.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *